Tuesday, 20 February 2018

Characters of the Zodiac of Albertus Magnus

The second chapter in Pseudo-Albertus Magnus features the 12 characters of the signs of the zodiac. 

Most follow the same construct: within a rectangular shape we find a central complex seal (often with circle ends), a superior section with corrupted Hebrew letters and star configurations. Libra, Scorpio, Aquarius and Pisces feature the regular symbols of the signs. 

The attributions vary on the three pages that are occupied by the seals: on f.8v, the first four signs are indicated by astrological glyphs, on fol.9r, the middle four signs are indicated by labels in italic Latin and on fol.9v, the last four  use cursive German.


1. Aries                                                 2.Taurus

  3. Gemini                                                 4.Cancer

5. Leo                                                 6.Virgo

7. Libra                                                 8.Scorpio

9. Sagittarius                                                10.Capricorn

11. Aquarius                                                12.Pisces

1 comment: